Eat The Darkness

by matthew ratajczak

For Rodney: Buy a Print, Save a Life

leave a comment »

Copyright © Detroit Free Press

I met Rodney Curtis, a former photo editor with The Detroit News and Detroit Free Press, years ago. Once when I flew up from Florida to interview for a staff position at the Free Press and once when I was the best man for my friend and Free Press staff photographer Romain Blanquart at his backyard wedding in the city. I think I even applied for a photography internship at the Midland Daily News where Rodney was the photo editor. I think it’s safe to say that he probably doesn’t remember me and that’s OK, they were brief encounters in both of our lives. But I definitely remember his big personality and his warmth and kindness.

Copyright © The Detroit News

I was saddened  the other day to learn that Rodney was recently diagnosed with leukemia. And, this shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone, his health insurance provider is not paying for a lot of the medical bills. And to add a rotten cherry to the top of this shit sundae, he was also laid off from the Free Press last year.

Copyright © 2010

To hep defray Rodney’s mounting medical costs, photographers from the Detroit area and from the city’s two major newspapers, the newspapers themselves and Tangent Gallery, have come together to organize a print sale called One4one print sale: one moment in time for one great cause. There are a variety of current and vintage images (Some seen here in this blog posting) that document Detroit’s rich music and sports history as well as landscape photos, nature photos, travel photos and much more. More than 100 unframed photographs are available for purchase as 8X10, 11X14 or 16X20 until August 1. So don’t delay, check it out and buy a print for you or someone you love and help Rodney fight the fight.

Copyright © 1984

Written by eatthedarkness

July 23, 2010 at 4:46 PM

Leave a comment